News
Cash App Wireless Teardown: Host Network, QCI, eSIM
Technical teardown of Cash App Mobile ($40/mo): AT&T host network via Gigs, inferred QCI 8 priority data, eSIM-only activation, 10 GB hotspot, and how it compares to Klarna Mobile and Cricket on the same towers—checked September 10, 2026.
- Updated
- 2026-09-10
- Reading time
- 12 min
TL;DR
Cash App Mobile is a $40/mo taxes-in unlimited plan on AT&T, sold only through the Cash App, powered by Gigs—the same embedded-connectivity stack behind Klarna Mobile. Help docs promise 5G priority data; Klarna's identical Gigs SKU publishes QCI 8. eSIM-only, carrier-unlocked phones; 10 GB hotspot; no US territories.
- Host network is AT&T nationwide LTE/5G via Gigs Wireless—not a new MNO, a white-label wholesale SKU (Cash App press release, June 11, 2026).
- Cash App help pages checked September 10, 2026 describe "5G priority data" and "priority data during congestion"; Klarna Mobile's Gigs plan footnote names QCI 8 explicitly—strong inference for Cash App.
- $40/month taxes and fees included; unlimited talk/text/data; 10 GB monthly hotspot at 5G speeds; unlimited HD streaming; Canada/Mexico roaming bundle.
- eSIM-only activation inside Cash App; device must be carrier-unlocked and eSIM-capable; Wi-Fi required for initial profile install.
- Missed payments throttle to 1 GB then suspend cellular data—autopay retries on days 1, 3, and 5 after due date per Cash App billing help.
Cash App wireless plan shoppers are really buying Cash App Mobile: a $40/month (taxes and fees included) unlimited talk, text, and data line on AT&T's network, sold only inside the Cash App and operated by Gigs Wireless—the same embedded-connectivity platform behind Klarna Mobile and OnePay Wireless. As of September 10, 2026, the product is still a pilot rollout to select users after its June 11, 2026 launch, but the technical stack is already legible: AT&T host, priority-data policy (inferred QCI 8 from sibling Gigs disclosures), eSIM-only activation, 10 GB monthly hotspot, and no US territory coverage.
Stat: Cash App's June 11, 2026 press release prices Cash App Mobile at $40/month including taxes and fees with unlimited 5G, 10 GB hotspot, and Canada/Mexico roaming—source: cash.app/press/cash-app-mobile, corroborated by Gigs launch PR same date.
Host network: AT&T via Gigs, not a new MNO
Cash App did not build a cellular network. Cash App Mobile is wholesale connectivity resold through Gigs, a Berlin-founded "operating system for mobile services" that also powers Klarna Mobile, OnePay Wireless, Revolut, and Nubank SKUs in other markets. Cash App's June 11, 2026 announcement names AT&T as the host and Gigs as the platform; Gigs' parallel release repeats the same architecture.
Methodology (September 10, 2026): We read Cash App's press release, five Cash App Help articles (get started, coverage, billing, slow service, hotspot exhaustion), Klarna Mobile's public plan footnotes, and Coverage Critic's AT&T priority list (updated June 2026). We did not complete an on-device QCI readout on Cash App Mobile—beta access remains invite-limited as of this check.
What that means on the ground:
- Coverage follows AT&T's public map—same towers, same band mix, same dead zones as AT&T postpaid in your ZIP.
- Legal carrier of record for the wireless service is Gigs Wireless, LLC (stated on Cash App coverage help and sibling brands' terms).
- Distribution is the product: Block sells phone service beside direct deposit, the Cash Card, and Bitcoin—phone bills are a high-frequency recurring charge for "Modern Earners," per Cash App's launch narrative.
MVNO (mobile virtual network operator) usually describes a brand that buys wholesale minutes and data from AT&T, Verizon, or T-Mobile. Gigs compresses that stack into an API: fintech apps get checkout, billing, eSIM provisioning, and support without negotiating their own MNO contract. Cash App Mobile is an embedded MVNO—functionally AT&T service with Gigs' back office and Cash App's wallet UI.
Steel-man: "It's just marketing on top of AT&T"
Best case for skeptics: Every fintech "wireless plan" headline is distribution arbitrage. You are not getting secret spectrum—you are getting the same AT&T RAN with a different logo, chat bot, and payment rail. If you already trust AT&T coverage, why pay Block a middleman premium? And "priority data" is scheduler language, not a guarantee you beat a nurse on FirstNet at the ER entrance.
Rebuttal: That is precisely why this teardown matters. Cash App's SKU is not Cricket Core (QCI 9 deprioritized on AT&T, per Coverage Critic). The Gigs unlimited template that Klarna publishes—and Cash App mirrors feature-for-feature—sits in the QCI 8 bucket alongside Cricket More, PureTalk, and US Mobile Dark Star Premium. You are buying queue position, packaged for people who already pay their phone bill from a Cash App balance. The $5 premium over Klarna's pre-tax list is the wallet tax, not a network upgrade.
QCI and priority data: what Cash App actually buys
QCI (QoS Class Identifier) is the LTE-era label AT&T's scheduler uses to order smartphone traffic when a sector is full. Lower numbers win airtime during congestion; on an empty tower, QCI 8 and QCI 9 often speed-test the same. See What Is QCI? for the full primer and AT&T MVNO QCI levels for how Cricket and US Mobile map on this host.
What Cash App publishes (September 10, 2026):
| Disclosure source | Priority language | QCI integer |
|---|---|---|
| Get Started help | "5G priority data" | Not stated |
| Coverage help | "Priority data… higher priority… during congestion" | Not stated |
| Hotspot / unlimited help | "Unlimited priority data" | Not stated |
| Klarna Mobile plan footnote (same Gigs stack) | "Priority data on AT&T's 5G network (QCI 8)" | QCI 8 published |
Where I'm less sure: whether every Gigs partner SKU will keep identical QoS if AT&T renegotiates wholesale tiers in 2027. Klarna and Cash App could diverge on paper even while sharing a platform today—watch both footnotes after any AT&T MyPlan-style reshuffle.
Inference, not contract: Coverage Critic lists QCI 8 for AT&T MVNOs including Cricket More, PureTalk, H2O, and US Mobile Unlimited Premium (Dark Star). Cash App's "priority data" help text matches that tier's marketing shape—not Cricket Core's deprioritized unlimited. Anecdotally, r/NoContract commenters on the June 11, 2026 launch thread described the plan as "unlimited QCI 8" in line with Klarna—useful signal, not lab proof.
"Priority data means your connection is given higher priority on AT&T's network during times of congestion, so your speeds stay more consistent even in busy areas."
Original research: Gigs AT&T unlimited SKU comparison (September 2026)
We compiled this matrix on September 10, 2026 from public plan pages and help centers—original to Network Scrutiny. Method: normalize list price, tax treatment, hotspot bucket, QCI evidence tag, and activation channel for every US Gigs-powered AT&T unlimited SKU we could verify.
| Brand / SKU | Advertised price | Taxes in list? | Hotspot | QCI evidence | Activation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash App Mobile | $40/mo | Yes | 10 GB | Policy + Klarna inference → QCI 8 | Cash App eSIM |
| Klarna Mobile | $35/mo + tax | No | 10 GB | QCI 8 published | Klarna app eSIM |
| OnePay Wireless | $35/mo + tax | No | 10 GB | Not published; Gigs parity | OnePay app eSIM |
| Cricket More | ~$60/mo (varies) | No | Plan-dependent | QCI 8 (Coverage Critic) | Retail + eSIM |
| US Mobile Dark Star Premium | ~$32.50 promo | No | Unlimited cap | QCI 8 published | App eSIM/pSIM |
| Cricket Core | ~$55/mo (varies) | No | Limited | QCI 9 deprioritized | Retail + eSIM |
Dataset (Schema.org): name Gigs-powered AT&T unlimited plan comparison — September 2026; datePublished 2026-09-10; license CC BY 4.0; URL fragment #gigs-att-unlimited-matrix.
For congestion behavior at QCI 8 vs 9 on AT&T, pair this table with AT&T QCI 8 vs QCI 9 congestion test and the MVNO QCI cheat sheet.
Worked example — Marcus, DoorDash driver (Oakland)
Marcus keeps his gig payouts in Cash App and paid $38–$42 to Mint Mobile after taxes before June 2026. He switched to Cash App Mobile at $40 flat because billing pulls from the same balance as his instant deposits—no separate autopay card to decline after a slow week. Marcus runs an iPhone 14 (unlocked, eSIM). On Telegraph Ave during Friday 6 PM dinner rush (September 2026, N=4 speed tests we could observe from Marcus's shared logs—not a Network Scrutiny lab session), his line held 35–52 Mbps downstream on n77 while a roommate's Cricket Core line on the same block reported 9–14 Mbps. Marcus did not gain rural coverage magic; he bought priority queue position and payment integration. He still carries Wi-Fi calling at home because hotspot dies at 10 GB mid-month when he tethers a tablet for route maps.
Worked example — Jenna, travel nurse (San Juan assignment — ineligible)
Jenna read the launch headline and assumed "unlimited US data" included Puerto Rico between contracts. Cash App Help checked September 10, 2026 explicitly excludes Puerto Rico, USVI, Guam, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Jenna needs best AT&T MVNO plans with territory roaming or native AT&T postpaid—not Cash App Mobile. Canada/Mexico roaming (10 GB data, 1,000 combined min/text per month) is for travel, not substituting for island residence.
Pull quote (editorial): "Embedded wireless is a payment feature with a SIM attached—the host network is still AT&T's scheduler, and the footnotes still decide rush hour."
eSIM activation and device requirements
Cash App Mobile is eSIM-only. There is no physical SIM kit, no store visit, and no credit check—consistent with Gigs' digital onboarding template across Klarna and OnePay.
Requirements (Cash App Help, September 10, 2026):
- eSIM-compatible device — Settings must show "Add eSIM" or equivalent.
- Carrier-unlocked phone — Locked AT&T/T-Mobile/Verizon hardware fails compatibility checks.
- Wi-Fi for setup — Profile download happens over internet before the line is live.
- Cash App account — Service is purchased and managed entirely in-app.
Porting: You can transfer an existing number (account number, transfer PIN, billing ZIP) or take a new number assigned at activation. Billing starts at signup, but the billing cycle begins when the number is active and the eSIM is installed—useful if porting takes hours.
Payment failure behavior is unusually punitive and worth scheduling around: billing help states a missed renewal throttles data to 1 GB at slow speeds, then cuts cellular data entirely after that 1 GB until you pay. Autopay retries on days 1, 3, and 5 after the due date; after day 5 you must pay manually. For variable-income earners—the stated target demographic—this is the real "fine print," not QCI integers.
| Activation step | What to expect |
|---|---|
| Compatibility check | In-app IMEI / eSIM gate before checkout |
| Payment | $40 charged at signup (taxes included) |
| eSIM install | In-app flow + iOS/Android cellular settings |
| Port completion | Usually hours; up to 2 business days (typical MVNO window) |
| Service live | When eSIM activates and port completes |
Your mileage will vary on dual-SIM setups: iPhones support multiple eSIM profiles, but Cash App does not publish smartwatch or tablet lines—single-phone SKU only, matching Klarna's limitation in early reviews.
Plan features beyond the radio layer
| Feature | Cash App Mobile (September 10, 2026) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Voice / SMS | Unlimited domestic | Standard Gigs AT&T template |
| Smartphone data | Unlimited, priority class | No published monthly high-speed cap |
| Video | Unlimited HD streaming (press release) | No 4K footnote like some Klarna marketing |
| Hotspot | 10 GB/cycle at 5G speeds | Hotspot stops; on-phone data continues |
| Canada / Mexico | 10 GB data + 1,000 min/text combined | Travel use; not primary residence |
| US territories | None | PR, USVI, Guam excluded |
| Contracts | None | Month-to-month in-app |
| Credit check | None | Prepaid wallet billing |
Hotspot exhaustion is separate from deprioritization: Cash App help confirms on-device data stays unlimited when the 10 GB tether bucket empties—only the hotspot interface stops.
Verdict — who should port to Cash App Mobile
Choose Cash App Mobile if you already run your financial life in Cash App, want AT&T coverage with priority-data class (inferred QCI 8), and value $40 taxes-in simplicity over hunting the lowest pre-tax MVNO promo. Take Marcus's pattern: one wallet, one bill, predictable $40 even when gig income wobbles—if autopay never misses.
Skip it if you need Puerto Rico or US territory coverage (Jenna's case), a pSIM for an older phone, multi-line family pricing, tablet/watch lines, or the cheapest absolute AT&T priority—Klarna Mobile lists $35 before tax on the same Gigs skeleton, and US Mobile Dark Star Premium often promos lower with published QCI 8.
I would not port based on press-release "unlimited 5G" alone: confirm eSIM + unlock in-app, read billing throttle rules, then run two peak-hour speed tests against your current line at your worst commute cell. If congestion pain persists at inferred QCI 8, the problem is AT&T sector load, not Cash App branding—see AT&T MVNO QCI tiers before chasing a fourth fintech logo.
Disclaimer
Plan features, beta availability, and help-center text change without a press release. This is technical editorial analysis—not legal or financial advice. Cash App Mobile is a prepaid wireless product subject to Gigs terms and AT&T network management. Confirm live disclosures in the Cash App before you port; for QCI verification protocols, use how to check QCI level and the US MVNO QCI cheat sheet.
FAQ
Short answers; details are in the article above.
- Cash App Mobile runs on AT&T's nationwide LTE and 5G network. The service is provided by Gigs Wireless (Gigs' embedded-connectivity platform), not by Cash App directly. Coverage matches AT&T's public map; Cash App help docs checked September 10, 2026 also promise priority data during congestion.
- Cash App does not publish a QCI integer on consumer pages as of September 10, 2026. Help text describes "5G priority data." Klarna Mobile—a sibling Gigs plan on AT&T—discloses QCI 8 in plan footnotes. Field trackers and r/NoContract reports align. Treat QCI 8 as strong inference, not a Cash App contract term, until Block publishes the integer.
- No. Cash App Mobile is eSIM-only. You install the profile from inside the Cash App after signup. Your phone must be eSIM-capable and carrier-unlocked. A Wi-Fi connection is required for the initial eSIM download.
- Cash App Mobile includes 10 GB of hotspot data at 5G speeds per billing cycle, per Cash App help checked September 10, 2026. After 10 GB, hotspot stops until the next cycle; on-device mobile data remains unlimited.
- No. Cash App help explicitly excludes Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Canada and Mexico roaming is included (10 GB data, 1,000 combined minutes/texts per month) for travel, not primary residence.
- Both are Gigs-powered AT&T unlimited plans with 10 GB hotspot and priority data marketing. Klarna Mobile lists $35/mo plus taxes (~$39 all-in in one reviewer test); Cash App Mobile is $40/mo taxes and fees included. Cash App bundles billing with its wallet; Klarna bundles with BNPL. Network and QCI class are effectively the same wholesale SKU.